Panko Parmesan Chicken Strips

Standard

My Star and I created this recipe tonight on whim! We pretty much, or should I say hardly ever and can’t even remember the last time, made fried chicken and to be honest, I was just really in the mood for some tonight. The main thing that I love about this dish is that there are leftovers! My daughter, Shannon, loves chicken so this is a great lunch for her to take to school. After tonight’s meal, I took a strip slice it and put it in a whole wheat tortilla with some shredded cheese topped with hot sauce (she is obsessed with hot sauce….maybe because I craved spicy foods while I was pregnant, hmmm). It will also go great in a caesar salad, turn it into chicken parmesan with some marinara sauce, slice it and put on some artisan bread with some lettuce, tomato, avocado and some dressing or freeze it and reheat for later. The possibilities are endless. I’m thinking I need to make this more often to just have on hand.

Ingredients:

1 large egg
1/3 cup buttermilk
2 1/2 pounds boneless skinless chicken breast, cut into strips
1 1/2 cups panko bread crumbs (I love panko, it gives the chicken such a nice crunch)
1/4 cup Parmesan cheese
1/4 teaspoon paprika
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1 teaspoon Oregano
Salt and pepper
1/2 cup canola or vegetable oil

Whisk the egg and buttermilk in a medium bowl. In another shallow bowl combine panko with Parmesan cheese, paprika, garlic powder, oregano, salt and pepper, to taste.

Heat oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Place chicken in egg/buttermilk mixture, lift chicken from mixture letting excess liquid drain back into the bowl, then dip into panko and turn to coat on all sides.

Carefully place chicken in oil and cook until they are golden and crispy and cooked through, about for 5 minutes per side. Transfer chicken to plate.

One response »

Leave a Reply

