Cuban Pork Chops

Standard

I will first tell you that I am not a huge fan of pork chops. Every time I made them either baked with sauerkraut (cause that is how mom use to make them when I was growing up) and applesauce on the side (I still don’t get the two together, which reminds me of a Brady Bunch episode when Peter would say in a funny voice…pork chops and applesauce), grilled or pan fried the flavor wasn’t there for me. They just tasted eh! I cannot remember the last time I bought them. I think I did over the summer and just grilled them with some seasoning, but I know my love really likes them so I searched for a flavorful recipe and I found this one. I found it on Foodnetwork and did some tweaking. I now believe that I have found the perfect pork chop recipe! Yes! These were so juicy and full of flavor. I love the hint of orange juice with the lime, so yummy!

Ingredients:

1 cup plus 1/4 cup orange juice, divided
1/2 cup plus 1/4 cup fresh lime juice, divided
1/4 cup vinegar
4 (1-inch-thick) pork chops or in our case 8 thin cut pork chops
1 tablespoon black pepper
2 teaspoons kosher salt
1 1/2 teaspoons ground cumin
1 tablespoon garlic powder
1 tablespoon onion powder
1 tablespoon dried oregano
3 tablespoons canola oil
2 cloves garlic, chopped
4 tablespoons chicken broth

In a gallon-sized resealable plastic bag (or glass dish, as I did not have any large bags in the house), combine 1 cup orange juice, 1/2 cup lime juice, and vinegar. Add pork and let it sit and marinate for about 1 hour in refrigerator.

In a small mixing bowl, combine all dried spices. Pat the pork chops dry with a paper towel and rub with the dry spice mixture.

Heat oil in a large saute pan over high heat. Place the pork chops in the pan and sear on 1 side until brown. Flip over and turn the heat down to medium-low.

Add the garlic and continue to cook until garlic begins to brown. Pour in the remaining 1/4 cup orange juice, 1/4 cup lime juice, and broth. Simmer until the liquid is slightly reduced and begins to thicken. The chops should be cooked through.

Remove the chops from pan and put on a warm plate. Continue to reduce juices in pan by half. Pour over the chops and serve immediately.

Leave a Reply

