Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Standard

I love me a good bundt cake! I just found out that November 19th is National Bundt Cake Day, woo hoo! Who knew there was an actual day for bundt cake, crazy, but I love it! I will definitely be adding some different types of bundt cakes on here. My Star has an extreme sweet tooth. Me…not so much. I rather have some good bread and cheese for dessert. 🙂

This recipe I got from my mom. She made me a binder of collection of recipes from my grandmother (her mom). My Dad (God rest his soul) made the cover and the back of the binder.

The front cover

My beautiful grandmother (God rest her soul). She was such a classy lady.

This truly was one of the best gifts my Mom gave me. Recipes hand written by my Grandmother. I will cherish it forever.

Over time, my Mom gave me more recipes that she had, as well as friends and my aunts. I too have added clippings from a ton of magazines, as well as a bunch I downloaded from the internet. Some I have made and others, well not yet. I love collecting recipes and cookbooks. My goal is start making some of these recipes that I have had stored in this binder for years.

Ingredients:

1 stick butter, room temperature
1 1/2 cups sugar
1/2 cup sour cream
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
3 large eggs
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

In a large mixing bowl, cream the butter and sugar together. Add the sour cream and mix until incorporated.

Sift the baking soda and flour together.

I love this sifter! My mom gave it to me years ago and I cannot remember if this was originally hers or my grandmothers. Either way, I will never part with it.

Add to the creamed mixture alternating with eggs, beating in each egg 1 at a time. Add vanilla.

Pour the mixture into a well greased and floured bundt pan. Bake for 40 minutes to 1 hour or until toothpick inserted into the center of the cake comes out clean.

Leave a Reply

